Designed for Learning - LaGuardia Center for Teaching and Learning

What’s Out There?
Surveying Electronic Resources/Constructing Inquiry Activities Resources

Selected Web Resources

Multidisciplinary Resources
Merlot http://www.merlot.org/Home.po
Edsitement http://edsitement.neh.gov/
Channel Thirteen's Ed Online http://www.thirteen.org/edonline/
Point of View (POV): High Quality Films on Current Topics http://www.pbs.org/pov/video/full_length_list.html

Sciences
NASA http://www.nasa.gov/
Science NetLinks http://www.sciencenetlinks.com/
The Biology Project http://www.biology.arizona.edu/
LAGCC's Anatomy and Physiology Study Lab http://www.lagcc.cuny.edu/aplab/
The Tree of Life http://tolweb.org/tree/phylogeny.html
The Particle Adventure http://www.particleadventure.org/
Cells Alive! http://www.cellsalive.com/

Health Sciences
American Occupational Therapy Association http://www.aota.org/
All Nurses.com http://www.allnurses.com/
Minority Nurse http://www.minoritynurse.com/
CyberNurse http://www.cybernurse.com/


Psychology
American Psychological Society(Teaching Resources)  http://psych.hanover.edu/APS/teaching.html
Laura’s Psychology Blog (by Psychology Professor Laura Freberg) http://laurafreberg.com/blog/
The Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues (Teaching Resources) http://www.spssi.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=Page.viewPage&pageId=647
Teaching Clinical Psychology http://www-usr.rider.edu/~suler/tcp.html
American Psychological Society http://psych.hanover.edu/APS/teaching.html
American Psychological Association (Pre-College and Undergraduate) http://www.apa.org/ed/pcue/homepage.html

Math
A Gallery of Interactive Geometry http://www.geom.umn.edu/apps/gallery.html
HyperStat Online http://davidmlane.com/hyperstat/index.html
Case Studies Compiled by UCLA Statistics Department http://www.stat.ucla.edu/cases/
The Math Forum http://mathforum.org/
Math Archives http://archives.math.utk.edu/index.html
Visual Calculus http://archives.math.utk.edu/visual.calculus/title3.html
Calculus Graphics http://www.ima.umn.edu/~arnold/graphics.html

English Language Learning/ESOL
English for All (go in as Visitor) http://www.myefa.org
The Literacy Assistance Center's ESOL resource links http://www.lacnyc.org/resources/links/esol.htm
Breaking News English http://www.breakingnewsenglish.com/
English Club http://www.englishclub.com/listening/news.htm
National Storytelling Network http://www.storynet.org/

Writing and Composition
CUNY WriteSite http://writesite.cuny.edu/
National Council of Teachers of English Teaching Resources Lesson Plans http://www.ncte.org/lessons
Purdue's Online Writing Lab http://owl.english.purdue.edu/lab/index.html
University College of the Cariboo's Writing in the Disciplines web site http://cariboo.tru.ca/disciplines/index.htm

Business, Economics, and Globalization
Global Edge International Business Resource Desk http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/ibrd.asp
Brint: Business, Technology, Economy Portal http://www.brint.com
Corpwatch http://www.corpwatch.org/
Bretton Woods Project http://www.brettonwoodsproject.org/
The World Bank Internet Gateway http://www.worldbank.com/
Strategy and Business http://www.strategy-business.com/
Health Care & Economy: Film: Critical Condition http://video.pbs.org/video/1226348945/program/1154485580

Literature, History and Cultural Studies
History Matters http://historymatters.gmu.edu/
American Memory http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
American Studies Crossroads Project http://crossroads.georgetown.edu/
Digital Atlas of New York City http://130.166.124.2/NYpage1.html
The Blackout History Project: New York City 1965/1977 http://blackout.gmu.edu/
The Victorian Web http://www.victorianweb.org/
American Verse Project http://www.hti.umich.edu/english/amverse/
Poet at Work: Recovered Notebooks from the Walt Whitman Collection http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/wwhtml/wwhome.html
Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet http://shakespeare.palomar.edu/
Remembering Nagasaki http://www.exploratorium.edu/nagasaki/
The Great Chicago Fire and Web of Memory http://www.chicagohs.org/fire/intro

Employment and Cooperative Education
Occupational Outlook Handbook (U.S. Dept. Of Labor) http://www.bls.gov/oco/home.htm
International Association of Administrative Professionals http://www.iaap-hq.org/
America's Career InfoNet http://www.acinet.org/acinet/default.asp
Riley Guide http://www.rileyguide.com
LaGuardia Community College Library Career Research Guide http://library.laguardia.edu/webguide/coop

News and Teaching Resource Sites
New York Times Education Section http://www.nytimes.com/pages/education/index.htm
Thirteen Ed OnLine—Education http://www.thirteen.org/edonline/educators.html
Literacy Works http://literacyworks.org/lw/home.html?flash
BBC Learning Resource http://www.bbc.co.uk/learning/
PBS Programming http://www.pbs.org/search/search_programsaz.html

LaGuardia Center for Teaching and Learning, LaGuardia Community College/CUNY
31-10 Thomson Avenue, Room M414, Long Island City, NY 11101
Contact: Aarkieva Smith, 718.482.5462 , asmith@lagcc.cuny.edu
Site maintained by Priscilla Stadler, pstadler@lagcc.cuny.edu
Site developed by: Abby Schoneboom and Paul Mantykiewicz.